You will be denied the right to purchase a handgun if:

Wisconsin disqualifiers:

1.    You have been convicted of a felony in Wisconsin or an offense elsewhere that would be a felony in Wisconsin.

2.    You are found not guilty of a felony in Wisconsin by reason of mental disease or defect or elsewhere for an offense that would be a felony in Wisconsin.

3.    You are an adjudicated delinquent for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult in Wisconsin.

4.    You are involuntarily committed for treatment of mental illness, drug dependency or developmental disability.

5.    You are subject to a harassment, domestic abuse or child abuse injunction prohibiting the possession of a firearm.

Additional federal disqualifiers:

1.    Illegal or unlawful aliens.

2.    Persons who have renounced U.S. citizenship.

3.    Persons dishonorably discharged.

4.    Persons adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to any mental institution.

5.    Unlawful users addicted to controlled substances, drug convictions within the last year at misdemeanor and county/city ordinance level.

6.    Convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence.

7.    Fugitive from justice.

Federal law requires Wisconsin to deny based on federal disqualifiers as well as those established by Wisconsin law.

For more information see: or Koll v. Department of Justice, 2009 WI App 74, 317 Wis. 2d 753, 679 N.W. 2d 69.